alternoob.blogg.se

Review arturia analog lab
Review arturia analog lab















When you first open Analog Lab, you’ll be greeted by a dialog box that asks you if you want to go through a quick tutorial. Here are some short audio examples – no external effects were used:Īnd to add some examples by other people, here’s a short live showcase by Arturia:

review arturia analog lab

Maybe this is just my shallow first impression, but to get the best sound I recommend adding your own FX. Although the built-in effects do their job, I didn’t find them very interesting for shaping the tone. While I loved many of the sounds themselves, I found the FX section of the plugin less inspiring. While this is a great deal, Analog Lab costs just $50 more, includes 24 very different vintage instruments and comes with 6500 presets. That’s two synths with a total of about 500 presets. Repro 5 is currently available for about $150 in a bundle deal with Repro 1. However, I don’t find it fair to compare Analog Lab to a high-end boutique synth. There are a lot of exciting vintage simulations on the market right now and if you need all your synths to sound as buttery and sweet as u-he’s Repro 5 or as fat as Diva, then Analog Lab’s sound might be underwhelming to you. They are often gritty, noisy, dreamy, otherworldly, strange and very retro. I for one loved the sound of many of those synths. But all in all, it depends on your preference and use case. There’s a muddiness/lack of presence to some and I’ve also encountered some thinness. When it comes to sound quality, yes, some synths sounds may sound better than others.

review arturia analog lab

But after just a few minutes of playing around with Lab, I came to an entirely different conclusion: Those sounds were awesome and exciting! I had so much fun playing with the collection, that I spent the next two hours just going through the presets and playing around with parameters. Why? Because I had read in a few forum threads that the sounds were thin, uninspiring and partially unusable. I have to say I was bracing myself for disappointment when I first opened Lab. But what I do want to talk about quickly is the sound itself. Now, I’m not going to review all these instruments here, especially since Analog Lab is a sound collection, not an instrument collection. You’ll find airy Mellotron pads next to dirty Arp 2600 sequences next to legendary Jupiter-8 leads.

review arturia analog lab

This mix makes browsing through the presets fun and exciting. What makes this synth collection so interesting is that it includes widely used and legendary synths just as much as more obscure and rare synths.

review arturia analog lab

The “V” in the names refers to the fact that these presets are taken from Arturia’s synth emulations (they are not sampled from the actual instruments). Presets from the following synths, keyboard and organs are included in Analog Lab: This means Analog Lab is not meant for synth enthusiasts who want to create all their patches from scratch, it’s made for composers and producers who are looking for sounds to add to their production quickly and are okay with having less control over the individual sounds.

#Review arturia analog lab full#

Here’s how they differ: While V Collection is a “regular” VST collection and comes with 24 synths and keyboards, Analog Lab is an interface with 6500 presets from those synths.Īnalog Lab allows you to play with all those presets and even gives you the option to modify those sounds, but it doesn’t give you full access to those instruments. Both seemed to be vintage synth bundles of some sort. When I first looked into Arturia’s product line I was confused about the difference between Arturia Analog Lab and the Arturia V Collection. Analog Lab is made exactly for that: Look for a sound, find a sound, start writing. How often do you find yourself browsing presets to look for that one sound to inspire you? Even though I’ve become more and more independent from presets since I’ve started producing music, I still often rely on fresh sounds to kick off my creative process – especially when I’m in the mood to write something instead of fiddling around with sound design.















Review arturia analog lab